Life · Netflix

The Minimalist

I am posting this blog a lot later than expected because it was a super busy day.

I went to my uncle’s fiancee’s wedding shower. If you don’t know what a wedding shower is, it’s a baby shower, but for a wedding. It was fun to be around people I hadn’t seen in a while because life seems to always get in the way. It’s crazy how much life consumes your time and you forget how long its been since seeing family members.

After I stopped by my mother’s house, my parents are divorced and no I don’t want them back together.

What I really want to talked about tonight is a movie I started on Netflix called Minimalism: A Documentary About the Important Things. It was in the “Suggested for You” category, so I thought why not. First, they talked about minimize clutter in your life. Which is good, some clutter is bad clutter. Like people who buy unneeded products, but they talk about downsizing houses and living off of one pair of jeans for three months while traveling. As I am watching this, all I could think about is how these people just care for themselves and maybe one other. They don’t need a lot of space, but for the people who are a family of 5+ need large houses, want room to host large parties, or if any family members need a place to stay they have the room.

Later in the documentary, they showed a couple of families who were able to be “minimalist” with children, but one father explained that it’s hard to be a minimalist because he has six children, like it’s hypocritical of him to call himself minimalist.

The rest of the documentary, I totally agree with. They discussed how people are continuously consuming products because that is what makes people happy. People buy products just because they want it or society tells them that to be cool they needs to stay updated on fashion and technology.

It was very interesting; I would recommend watching the movie. The movie wasn’t life changing, at least for me, but it does get you thinking what makes you happy and how the media is messed up. If you’re unhappy, then figure out why and how to change it. Whether it’s meditating, reading, running, or spending time with family; don’t think that materials will fill the void.

Leave a Reply

