Adulting · Life

SEND ADVICE PLEASE!

Now that I have started my last semester, it seems like everything has just been jumbling together. Like I just sat down and realized all I have to do in order for my future to run smoothly. Graduation, job searching, and a plan. A plan that will get me out of my parents house, paying my own bills, and living life.

I have applied to a couple of job now, but I’m hoping that they will wait for me to graduate. That is besides the point, the biggest thing I’m scared about is waiting for the employers to contact me about the position I have applied for. It feels like eons before you hear anything back from a company. Scenarios start to create in your mind of whether you are qualified or good enough, well in my mind.

Another thing that gets my mind and heart racing is when the employer emails you and wants an interview: person or phone. I go into this full-out panic mode, they want to get to know you and what you have to offer to the company that other people may not. I’m afraid that I won’t say what they want to hear or what if the position that I applied for isn’t what I thought and I’m not qualified enough. Self-doubt will be the end of me.

So, if you, the reader, have any advice of how to ease these nerves and boost my confidence, I would love to hear or read them! Also, how to ace an interview or what you do to ease your nerves would be great as well. I have completes a phone interview before, and fortunately, I got the internship, but I don’t think it help me for future interviews because it was informal.

This is the position I currently am in. I been having a lot of self-doubt and it’s making me feel on edge. I could use any help!

3 thoughts on “SEND ADVICE PLEASE!

  1. Here’s my advice: Practice. Then practice some more. Then keep practicing. First of all, searching for a job should be thought of as: Sales. That’s what it is. You’re selling your time, effort and smarts. If you were selling vacuum cleaners, door-to-door you would be horrible at it — at first. If you survived your first hundred rejections, door-slams, shotguns in your face, after a few weeks you’d realize it’s just a simple numbers game. You might realize that every twenty doors you knock on (on average) results in one sale. All you have to do is knock on one hundred doors to get to five sales. Magic! Also, you may learn that the more you do sales the more relaxed you get about it. It starts feeling like you’re a sales machine! And as you relax you find that that translates into confidence — and with confidence sales take off! Looking for any job is a lot like that. It’s a numbers game. Pick a day of the week (I recommend Sunday night) and scour through the news papers (all the papers, or online) looking for prospects. Write custom cover letters for each prospect. Attach the cover letters to your resume. Send out your resume in batches (snail mail or email). Then forget about it. Systematize the process! Become a sales machine! It’s a numbers game. Next, practice interviewing with a friend or family member. Get serious about it! Look online for lists of interview questions (there are thousands of them). Have an answer ready for virtually any question. When you go through an interview, remind yourself that it’s just one of many, many interviews you may have in your life. If they don’t like you, some other organizations will. (What’s more, you should like them before you invest your time in their effort!) You know who gets hired? Persistent people. You will get hired. Let the rejection letters fall like water off a duck’s back and keep moving. You will get better with time. You will learn to relax. You will develop confidence. Just remember that when you were learning to walk you fell down a lot but you never gave up! The most important piece of advice I have is that even when you find a job — even a job you’re very happy with — keep practicing. Continue looking for prospects. Send out your resume once in a while. Go to interviews once in a while. Keep the mental juices flowing! Seriously entertain any offers you receive — but turn them down unless they’re exceptional, after all, you’re just practicing, right? The moment you hear your boss telling you you’ve been laid off (or fired) you won’t bat an eye. You’ll walk out the door with high-confidence, ready to look for work. Practice Makes Perfect.

    Like

  2. As far as qualifications go, I think it helps to look at things from the employer’s perspective. If you needed to hire someone, what would you do first? Probably write down a list of “this is what I’d like the person to have, as far as experience, education, etc.” What’s the next thing (after publishing the job description)? Hopefully receiving and organizing resumes. How would you organize? Best to least qualified. Then the best qualified would get a phone call, right? Yes, except the best qualified usually has many options and can ask for a pretty competitive wage. So you may not get to hire the best qualified. Your budget may not support the candidates salary requirements. Or, another organization may snatch her up before you even get to the second round of interviews. So you settle. You strike a balance between hiring the perfect candidate and hiring the best candidate who’s available to you at this time. Looking back, you realize the person you happily hired does not meet 100% of the “what I’d like this person to have” list. And that’s OK — because no one ever has 100% of any list of qualifications. Now look at things from your current perspective. You don’t have to know it all. You don’t have to have a check next to every qualification or requirement. Often the only thing you need is to show up! [to reference Woody Allen] Believe me, personality and attitude can go a long, long way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

