Accomplishments · Adulting · Life

From Firm to Kennel

After I graduated, I had a plan.

I accepted a position as a Marketing Coordinator at firm out in Baltimore, MD. I bought work attire and knew exactly what I was going to do with my first paycheck. I had it all figured out.

I started working only a week after I graduated because I thought that would be enough time to get my life in order. Three days into the job, I quit. Here’s the story…

The day I was offered the position, I was excited because there was a job that wanted me straight out of college. It definitely wasn’t the job I wanted, but a job is a job. Right? I called my mother explaining how I was offered the position, but told the interviewer that I needed time to think. This was a big deal and I wanted to think through what I was getting into.

After a couple of days, I emailed their HR department and accepted the position. The first day was hectic because I had papers to fill out and my nerves were out of control. I was meeting everyone and there were about 10-12 people is a small room; all talking at the same time with Sinatra playing in the background. As overwhelmed as it was, my introvert side took over and all I wanted to do was hide and blend in with the light-blue colored wall. The room quieted down as the manager walked in to start the meeting and I took notes.

The second day was about the same, but I felt more comfortable, but there was something in my gut that made me feel out of my element. My gut knew before I did that I shouldn’t be working at this place. My boss was generous enough and gave me the weekend off (The firm works Monday- Saturday). The only thing I had to do was rehearse my pitch, so I can go out in the field. I was way too excited about having my first weekend off because I wasn’t truly was unhappy at this job.

I remembered as much as I could, but I couldn’t quite get the ending part of the pitch down. I went in on Monday and pitched to my boss and another co-worker. Once I had finished my nervous babbling, I told them I was having difficulties with the last part of the pitch. My boss said he was sending me home again because I didn’t know my lines. He couldn’t send me out in the field because how could I sell someone a product, if i’m stumbling over my wording. He flipped through my training back and mumbled, “You should already know this, you had all weekend.” He shook his head and handed the packet back to me and walked away.

I was stunned. I stood there feeling terrible about myself and thought why am I working here, if he is going to make me feel bad about my mistakes? I took notes from the meeting, clocked out, and marched out of that office. I went home and broke down. I didn’t break down because of what he said. I was so mad at myself for not listening to the warning signals my gut screamed, “THIS IS NOT FOR YOU.” It probably didn’t help that I only gave myself a week to relax and get my life together after college. I definitely needed more time than that.

Again, I called my mother explaining my day and how much I dreaded going into the office. I felt out of place and I didn’t feel like myself; I wasn’t comfortable. Instead of rehearing and practicing my lines, I sat for hours in front of the computer applying for other jobs. Finally, I decided to type out an email to the HR department explaining my resignation.

I felt bad because I know I didn’t put my all into the job. The people who worked there said you have to put in your 100 percent to succeed in this job, but I was only putting about 30 because this was a short term. I wasn’t in it for the long run.

During my college career, I started taking care of dogs: sitting and walking. Of course, I made an account on Care.com and I booked a couple of things here and there. So, I looked up kennels and shelters that were hiring and fortunately, I received a call the same day as I applied for the position and was more than willing to accept the job. I didn’t need time to think about it and my gut was in paradise. I am currently a house and dog sitter, dog walker, and I work in a kennel. I went in for an interview at another kennel Saturday, June 10 and hoping to get the position.

I don’t wake up annoyed, nervous, or uncomfortable because I have always found joy in the pets I care for, and just in animals generally. They are my happiness. If all I do with my life is care for dogs and write this blog, I would call myself successful. Very few people can say “I enjoy my job” or “This is my dream job,” and I would like to be one of those few people.

Moral: Listen to your gut and never settle just because the offer is there.

Ta ta for now.

Leave a Reply

